Episode 20 – Sewing and Stitchery Expo 2009

Listen to Podcast 20

A BIG thank you to the nice stranger who gave me a free ticket at Puyallup’s Sewing and Stitchery Expo!

Yesterday’s Charm Boston Yo-Yo’s Quilt

YoYo

And if you look close up, you can SEE THROUGH IT!  How’s that for a sexy quilt?

YoYoDetail

Marti Mitchell and her Eye-Spy quilts – I’ve already begun collecting.  I know.  But you can never collect too much fabric!  Don’t judge!

Marti

So I had to go to Rochelle’s to get some fabric for starting one of these quilts!  Here’s the fabric I bought:

fabric1fabric2fabric3fabric4skeletonfabric

I can’t stand how cute these Doll clothes are.  from Junk-Jeans, and the picture doesn’t do it justice.  And these girls look a little young to need deodorant, but for some reason they are all “Sure!”

dolljeans

These awesome fabrics were purchased from Barb’s Elegant Designs

fabric6

The Quilt Barn had these yarny fabrics.  Stop drooling.

fabric7

The folks from Martelli’s have innovative stuff.  Check it out!

Even though The Critter Pattern Works doesn’t have everything, they have AAAAAALOT.

Diane Ericson – stenciling on fabric

Cedar Canyon has rubbing plates

The Fabric Cafe has Chenille-It and Bobbin Bikini’s.

Momo Dini had beautiful embroidery for your embroidery machine.  They use the Robinson-Anton thread.

If you like pretty things, you will like Carol Ahles tools – they are like the jewelry of tools.

Looking for something to embroider?  Try AllAboutBlanks.com

Check out the embroidery of Jenny Haskins:

img_05772img_0576

Want to make precision piecing easy?  Look no further than Quiltsmart

Just look at this ribbon by Louisa Harding Yarns – called Sari Ribbon. I saw it for sale anywhere from $11-$15.  And yes, I bought it for $15 because I’m an idiot.

img_0613

Stacy Mitchell has precut fabric fusables ready to go that you can use, and then, because it is cut so precised, you can use the “negative” for a second pillow, for example.

Big Fork Bay Cotton Company has lots of great applique, and their wildlife patterns are fantastic.

The Complete Clothier has a stash inventory and a “custom closet”

Wild Ginger software was giving out free CDs of bag, purses, and hats, but they also have custom clothing software

CliC reading glasses are scary awesome.

Pendleton was there too with rovings, but I’m too n00b to know how to convert ounces to grams.  Oh why didn’t I memorize the back of my elementary math book?

Here’s a nice picture of my friend Erin, and her family.  Aren’t they cute?

McDuartes

When you are at a lecture, and specifically Mark Lipinski’s – make sure your phone is turned to vibrate, because it might not be you who answers it!

Look at this fabulous fabric and quilt. Langa Lapu fabric can be ordered by your local quilt shop.

img_0078

This is a great design, ain’t it?

img_05821

Here’s the middle-eastern quilt – I know, put your tongue back in your mouth.

img_0082

Check out the bags from Laga Designs

My mom likes this website: Marshall Dry Goods

Look what I won for commenting on Valori Wells’ 100th blog!  What she sent is on the right, and my last fabric purchase is on the left.  Now do those compliment each other, or WHAT!?

img_0627

Look at the detail of the birdie fabric – don’t you love it?

img_0629

4 Comments

  1. Sally Howard said,

    March 13, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Hi Jennifer,

    Just wanted to drop you a note to let you know that Cindy Roth started the Innovations Machine Quilting Conference – http://www.mqinnovations.com/. She also started Longarm University http://longarmuniversity.com/, and is a wonderful longarm instructor and allover great gal!

    Sally

  2. Sally Howard said,

    March 13, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I’m sorry – forgot to thank you for another fun podcast! I didn’t get to Expo this year and it was fun to hear a recap of the fun stuff. Pew-al-up – emphasis on the Pew!

    Sally

  3. debby, chester ny said,

    March 14, 2009 at 11:51 am

    I was so excited as I was driving & listening to your podcast because I couldn’t wait to get home and check out the site with the towels, linens,
    etc. to embroider. What an AWESOME idea! I embrodiered a tea towel
    at a class at my local shop and wanted to embrodier more of the same towel in different colors. However, whenever the shop got in new towels they were always different then the ones I was looking for. So….I checked out the site you mentioned and they had the exact same ones in three different colors!
    And all the other stuff on the site is just wonderful if you are looking for clear items to embroider. And how can you beat $3.85 for shipping (no matter the size of the order!!). I’ll be shopping here again & again. Thanks for the info & a great podcast.

  4. Jane said,

    April 3, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Thanks for the podcast! Also, thanks for the link to Marshall Dry Goods!! I’ve bookmarked it to come back to when I have lots of time. What great prices! Does your Mom order from them a lot? Oh, and how incredible that the fabric you won is so great with what you just bought! What are you planning to make with them?


Leave a Reply

