Podcast 28 – Back in the saddle

Listen to Podcast 28

Note: Sorry for the static, I did not do everything correctly microphone-wise…sorry!  Will do better next time!

Portland Art Museum is fun – I saw an M.C. Escher exhibit, and Joseph Park (couldn’t find a website for him, but if you do a search you will find his amazing oil paintings!)

My watercolor paintings with Mama

IMG_1558IMG_1561IMG_1552IMG_1551

This weekend going to the Watercolor Society of Oregon’s show at the McMinnville’s Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum

First family vacation – Crater Lake!  Stayed at the Union Creek Resort (we stayed in cabin 21) instead of Crater Lake Lodge.

IMG_1371IMG_1382

IMG_1396

Even though Crater Lake is pretty, Klamath Falls was fun(ny).

Like audio books?  You might like The Fifth Vial by Michael Palmer…especially if you have to be in the car for 12+ hours.

Next year we are going to Victoria, Canada – so if you have any recommendations, please let me know!

How I separate the days:

Monday – scrapbooking, video stuff (www.youtube.com/oregonruvalcabas)

Tuesday – quilting and podcasting (pics of quilt coming as soon as I can)

Wednesday – pull weeds, or don’t if it’s raining 🙂

Thursday spinning – right now I’m spinning angora rabbit/wool blend.  LOVERLY!!!

Friday – knitting -lots of calorimetry and a MiL scarf

The pattern for Calorimetry (a Ravelry link)

IMG_1644

Saturday free, and Sunday painting (see pics above)

IMG_1641IMG_1642

Have been doing walking/running in training to do a 5k, and have been following the advice of the Mayo Clinic

Cute (and crying) Niema – my sister-in-law’s new baby

IMG_1420

NW Quilting Expo

This is the Raffle Quilt I’m going to win:

Rafflequilt

Funny bras for Breast Cancer Awareness sponsored by Greenbaum Quilted Forest

IMG_1431

IMG_1432

IMG_1434

IMG_1435

Pinwheel, by Lois Kunkle, quilted by Carol Kostell

IMG_1437

Rail Fence Gone to Seed by Nita Wells

IMG_1439IMG_1440

Fantasy Flowers by Cathy Erickson

IMG_1441

Fantasy Seahorse by Pat Mazzarella

IMG_1443

Tetons at Jenny Lake by Beverly Woodard – she used dryer lint for some of the snow – BRILLIANT!

IMG_1446

Faysie May’s Last Dance in the Rain, by Marcie Unger

IMG_1448

The Journey of Blue and Gray by Pat Busby – inspired by “March” by Geraldine

IMG_1451

Gypsie Rosalie  by Ronda K. Beyer

IMG_1454IMG_1458IMG_1459

Calendula by Mary C. Schroeder – pattern is from Marsha McCloskey’s Feathered Star Quilt Blocks 1

IMG_1460IMG_1463

I didn’t get the name or artist – I’m so sorry!

IMG_1465IMG_1466

Through Ancient Portals by Mary Arnold

IMG_1469

Flowers of the Galaxy by Gloria J. McKeehan and quilted by Lynette Harlan.  Pattern by Susan Powell

IMG_1470IMG_1473

Summer Blossoms by Terri Doyle

IMG_1479IMG_1480

Colors of Autumn by Lory Bishop

IMG_1482IMG_1483

and last but not least, Chocolate for Breakfast by Cindy Lyles

IMG_1488

Hoffman Challenge Dolls

P1010482

10 Comments

  1. Ruthann said,

    October 22, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    First, CONGRATULATIONS! You’ll be in my prayers!
    Second, I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard listening to a podcast before! You sound so JOYFUL! I love the description of your Crater Lake vacation. I’ve always wanted to go there. And I read The Fifth Vial — very intriguing premise!
    Third, I’m thrilled that you’re “back in the saddle”!!! I’ve missed you!

  2. Ruthann said,

    October 22, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    OH! And fourth, I LOVE your watercolors! You’re so talented!

  3. Colleen said,

    October 22, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Yay! Jenn is back!

    Victoria ideas:
    Satin Moon Quilt Shop is nice and near to downtown. You’ll find prices very high compared to the US – but take a look anyway. There may be some unique patterns or kits.
    Also – not quilt related, but very fun – Craigdarroch Castle. It’s hidden away in a residential area in the middle of town but it’s a real castle. You go on a self guided tour that tells you all the sordid history of the family that built it.
    And you have to go to the Butchart Gardens while you’re there. That will take at least a half day.

    Colleen

  4. debby, chester ny said,

    October 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Glad you’re back! Your paintings are beautiful!
    Looking forward to hearing your podcasts again.

  5. Lori said,

    October 24, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Wow. I haven’t been to crater lake since I wore pigtails. Since the 70’s. I’m glad your back. We live fairly close so your my ‘semi-local’ podcast queen. Thanks!

  6. Emily Hinkel said,

    October 24, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Jennifer,
    It was wonderful to hear your podcast again, glad you are back! I loved all the pics and your artwork is great! Flora is such a cutie pie!! How blessed you are! Good luck with training, I say just keep at it. When I was pregnant, it was hard to run (too uncomfortable) but walking at a good pace was much better. Have fun!
    Emily

  7. Kim Evanoff said,

    October 26, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Welcome back! I missed you and am glad you’re podcasting again!

    Congratulations and keep up the good work! Love it!

  8. Vanessa (Australia) said,

    November 3, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Hi Jen, my deepest congratulations to you all on the new baby. You will be in my thoughts. don’t push yourself too hard trying to get fitter. Thanks for the info on your travels, it is lovely to hear of places that are so far away from me here in Australia. I hope to travel to the USA one day in my lifetime. The quilt pic’s are amazing, so many talented people in this world. Take if easy Jen, your painting is wonderful and make sure you put those feet up often. Look forward to another podcast really soon I hope. Vanessa in Australia

  9. November 18, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Lovely pictures. Love to hear your bouncy and cheery voice again! Your pictures are amazing, – you’re so talented – I’m jealous! Take care!

  10. Cindy said,

    April 11, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Congratulations!!!! I’m So happy for you:) Hope every thing is still going fine and I wish you all the best! I also understand you needing your rest but if you come upon any energy at all, you do put out a mean pod-cast! Keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

