Podcast 31 – Bedrest ideas

Listen to Podcast 31

Weaving Sampler – Done! (well, I need to wash it, but our washing machine is leaking unknown fluid…but that’s for another time)  Taking a class at Multnomah Art Center

Notions I use to handquilt: (foldy scissors, John James size 11 needles, needle puller thingie, my acrylic nails, and American quilting thread)

Hand quilting – the iron-on template I use – discontinued

Skype phone number: 503-928-7890

Birthday dinner at The Painted Lady

Want to know more about blood clots (DVTs)?

My new master bedroom/sewing room

What I had to give away

My Flora and Anthony blanket with fun bindings

Gingerbread applique project that I’m a bit fearful of

My overbed table – I love you.

Updated Landscape Shawl safe(er) impaler – yarn I’m using is Filatura Di Crosa – Gioiello

My Shipwreck Shawl – I know it looks like a nothin…you have to click on the link to see what it REALLY looks like.  The yarn I’m using is Blue Moon Fiber Arts Silkmo in Thraven

8 Comments

  1. maureen said,

    February 25, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Try having the quilt looser in your hoop when u hand quilt. It is easier to pull the needle through

  2. February 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Jennifer, I LOVED this podcast! I know you are feeling less than fantastic, but you sound so upbeat and wonderful. I was bedridden the last four months of my pregnancy (in the dawn of time 20 years ago), so I understand your pain.

    Believe it or not, I haven’t seen my son since you sent my “reward,” but he’s coming home tomorrow for spring break, so we’re going to have some of the special pasta and meatBALLS one day (I’ll take pictures!).

    Stay well!

  3. Janet said,

    February 27, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    I really like the shaw, it is beautiful. It looks like it took a lot of concentration to make.

  4. Robin F said,

    March 1, 2010 at 5:44 am

    Love your sample! I, too, took weaving in college and I don’t remember learning different details like you made. Stunning! I wish I had your list when I was on bed rest. It would have been very helpful. But it’s a good list to keep in mind even if you are in a rut! Thanks! Hope your time goes quickly and you DVT disappears (silly girl).

  5. March 1, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Jennifer, I loved your podcast. I hope you keep podcasting and I hope you get calls on your skype other than the guy with the wrong number. What a hoot!

    I loved how you had tons of suggestions for staying crafty while going through this incredibly boring time in your life right now. I wish you didn’t feel so bored all the time. What a good idea to use this time for something productive. Or at least plan to. Or look at thinking about possibly completing these projects. I love listening to your stories about what is going on even though some of them have more quilting in them than others. I love those scissor / tweezer things you describe. I must put on my “buy someday” list, that would help a lot.

    I use a balloon as a cheap way to grab the needle when going through several layers of glued applique, and sometimes hand quilting (but I am just starting that process). I would think your product would work better even!

  6. Lauretta6 said,

    March 3, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Hemestats, That is what they are called. It took me awhile to remember. My nurse friends will wonder where my mind is. Those things are used to grap things in a medical enviroment. I am thinking of you. Poor baby just sitting in bed. I need a new computer so I can add skipe. Hope someone calls. I think you might like to see someone elses quilts and homes.

  7. Dianna said,

    April 29, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I just found your podcast! I’m new to hand quilting, a knitting lover, and mom. I can’t wait to catch up on back issues. I will try to skype you soon. I’d love to chat about quilting and knitting. What time zone are you in?

  8. theresa said,

    June 3, 2010 at 6:48 am

    I just found your podcast, I listen while going on my morning walk. Keep it up and Happy Belated Birthday.


Leave a Reply

