About two weeks to go

Wanna see the quilting I’ve been doing?      <—  Yeah, there it is…a whole lotta nada.  I cannot even wait for this pudge-o to be born.  I have approximately two weeks and two days to go before an induction that hasn’t been scheduled yet.  (Talking to Anthony) Unless you want to come early!!!!  I have had more complications  (skip reading if you don’t give a patootie)

1. Headaches so bad I’m seeing a neurologist and am now on beta-blockers

2. Gestational diabetes so I eat NO sugar, not even fruit until the afternoon…and I have a sweet tooth that borders a serious addiction

3. Pregnancy hormone related depression (that’s fun for the whole family until you get on happy pills)

So every day for the next few weeks I have doctor appointments (even on Memorial Day!) including another ultrasound in a week to check the growth.  I had one 2 weeks ago, and already Anthony has HUGE cheeks and a double chin.  The sonographer said “all of his weight is in his head!”  That’s just what a mama wants to hear right before labor.  Why not big knee caps, or larger than average toes?  His HEAD!!!

Flora is doing wonderfully, and has regressed to pretending she’s a baby (climbing into the swing or bouncy seat) to the point where she is fake crying with a pacifier in her mouth (she doesn’t use pacifiers).  I think she understands that a baby is coming, but I don’t know if she realizes he’ll be here for good.  I don’t know if telling her “your nemesis is coming” is helping either.

Thank you to the folks that have been checking up on me.  I appreciate the concerns.  It’s more kindly than my family’s insistence that the baby get here sooner (like I have a say) or that it’s really hard to get vacation scheduled (so not my problem).

When I have news, I’ll share!

Jenn

5 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    May 29, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Thanks for the update….I had been wondering how you were. Sorry you are having such a tough time and hope you will have an easy delivery. Flora is wonderful

  2. Vanessa (australia) said,

    May 29, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Dear Jen, I have been thinking about you wondering how things are going. Been really busy myself starting a new job and trying to keep up with my house and doing some sewing also. Sorry to hear you’ve had all these pregnancy troubles, hopefully they will all dissappear when Anthony is born. Speaking of which, boy I hope you can have him naturally if his head is a big one. Breath deep and try and let is all just happen. If you can go for a long walk that may help him to come out a bit earlier. Take care and will wait patiently for the big news on his safe arrival and that you are doing well. Thinking of you across the sea. Vanessa (Aust)

  3. Janet said,

    May 29, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I am glad to hear news from you. Sorry that this pregnancy is a long one for you and your family. I did leave call recently and left a phone message then realized I did not say much to identify myself. Will your health improve after Anthony is born? I will keep you in my thoughts.

  4. June 2, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Just happy to know you are resting and taking care of yourself… we were getting worried when you did not post.

    Praying for a healthy birth.

    Smack the sonogramer… she should have been more reassuring.

    NONNIE

  5. frances said,

    June 3, 2010 at 3:43 am

    Thanks for posting an update–I’ve been really worried! I hope the baby comes soon and delivery is easy (I had big-headed babies, but after the first one the trail’s been blazed, and the second one–for me at least, and other people say the same–is easier). I hope all your woes disappear the minute Anthony is born. I think you should podcast from the delivery room!

    Take care, frances


Leave a Reply

